Workshops

Veterinary clinical epidemiology, the basics. Study goal, study design, bias.

Facilitators: Mirjam Nielen (m.nielen@uu.nl), Else den Boer
Maximum Participants: 30

The workshop on veterinary clinical epidemiology will cover an introduction to study design and consideration of biases that might be introduced during the design stage of a project. After an introductory talk, participants will work in small groups to determine the most appropriate study design and approach to handling bias to answer specific veterinary research questions. The workshop will be concluded with a plenary discussion based on key learning points of the group work.

Inferential modelling with wide data

Facilitators: Martin Green (martin.green@nottingham.ac.uk), Robert Hyde, Eliana Lima
Maximum Participants: 15

This workshop will cover the problems associated with inferential modelling of high dimensional, wide data, suggest approaches to overcome them and provide hands-on training in the implementation of regularisation techniques, covariate selection stability and triangulation using ‘R’.

Spatial visualisation of health events

Facilitators: Brandon Hayes (brandon.hayes@envt.fr), Timothée Vergne (timothee.vergne@envt.fr)
Maximum Participants:
20

This workshop is a hands-on practical in R, where you will learn how to find, manipulate, and visualize raw spatial data to produce publication-quality maps including boundary and base maps, chloropleth maps and bubble plots.

Introduction of Game Theory and its application to animal health

Facilitators: Pablo Alarcon (palarcon@rvc.ac.uk), Mathew Hennessey (mphennessey@rvc.ac.uk), Alexis Delabouglise (alexis.delabouglise@cirad.fr), Guillaume Fournie (gfournie@rvc.ac.uk)
Maximum Participants: 30

This workshop will provide an introduction to Game Theory, a field of economics used to assess multiplayer strategic decisions, and help participants apply the concepts to animal health problems. The workshop will be composed of a lecture on game theory and a practical where attendees will set up, analyse and act as players in a basic conceptual game model using livestock vaccination strategies.

Disease outbreak investigations

Facilitators: Fraser Menzies (fraser.menzies@daera-ni.gov.uk), Maria O’Hagan (maria.o’hagan@daera-ni.gov.uk)
Maximum Participants: 36

This workshop will provide an opportunity to develop field investigation skills through simulated outbreaks of avian influenza from an epidemiological perspective. Presentations will be supplemented by breakout sessions where ‘flock keepers’ can be interviewed by participants to extract the relevant information to allow risk windows and associated tracings to be constructed for two outbreaks, which will then enable potential links between outbreaks to be explored.

Substantiating freedom from infection

Facilitators: Aurélien Madouasse (aurelien.madouasse@oniris-nantes.fr), Eleftherios Meletis (emeletis@outlook.com)
Maximum Participants: 15

This workshop will introduce the relevant concepts of proving disease freedom and provide hands-on training in the existing methodologies including scenario tree modelling, the STOC-free model and Bayesian hierarchical true prevalence estimation.

Scroll to Top